Mohanlal wins his first Nandi award for Janatha Garage

Wednesday, 15 Nov, 2017

The NTR Award was bestowed upon Kamal Haasan, K Raghavendar Rao and Rajinikanth in 2014, 2015 and 2016 respectively. Allu Arjun won under Best Character actor category for his role in Rudhramadevi in 2015. Among his contemporary heroes, he is the only star who received such large number of Nandi's. Nandamuri Balakrishna, Murali Mohan, Giribabu, Jeevitha and others handed over the awards lists. Evade Subrahmanyam and Nenu Sailaja won the titles for second and third best films in 2015. On March 1, this year, the government had announced awards for 2012 and 2013. Pelli Chooppalu, directed by emerged as the big victor of the year 2016.

The same report also stated that chairman Ambica Krishna, MLA and Best actor for 2014 Nandamuri Balakrishna will meet chief minister Chandrababu Naidu to finalise the date for award ceremony.

Even in the year 2015, the Nandamuris bagged Nandi's. Manam movie, that won critical acclaim as well as box office collections was definitely a better choice for best feature film compared to Legend. The complete actor Mohanlal, who impressed one and all with his performance in Janatha Garage bagged the big honour for 2016. The multiple-time National Award-winning actor has apparently already shed a few kilos to look young and trim. While most of the awards were bagged by Telugu industry members, Malayalam superstar Mohanlal too won an award to his kitty. Krishnam Raju, Eswar, Chiranjeevi were selected for the Raghupathi Venkaiah film award for the years 2014,2015 and 2016.

Baahubali: The Beginning is the show-stealer of the year 2015 as the movie went on to fetch as many as 13 awards including best director, best supporting actress (Ramya Krishnan) and best villain (Rana Daggubati).