Dua Lipa beats Ed Sheeran in Brit Awards 2018 nominations

Sunday, 14 Jan, 2018

Dua Lipa, Ed Sheeran, J Hus, Rag'n'Bone Man and Stormzy are the nominees for the prestigious Mastercard British Album of the Year.

Dua Lipa's "New Rules", Rag N Bone Man's "Human", Jonas Blue's "Mama" and Jax Jones' "You Don't Know Me" are also nominated.

The former One Direction star is nominated for best single and best artist video for Strip That Down, which features rapper Quavo.

And former One Direction star Payne was nominated for best single and video for "Strip That Down", which has now been a hit in Britain, Australia and United States.

In the worldwide categories, Bjork, Kendrick Lamar, Childish Gambino, Drake, LCD Soundsystem, HAIM, Arcade Fire, Alice Wolf, The Killers, and Alicia Keys have been nominated.

Foo Fighters - who are confirmed to perform at this year's ceremony - are up against Arcade Fire, The Killers, LCD Soundstyem and HAIM for best worldwide band.

Asked if he was preparing a winner's speech for the ceremony, Payne said: "Probably not... there's been so much great music". "This is where I am from so it it's extra special".

He said: "It's fantastic".

"I love solo life".

"I love it. We all needed a break, it got a bit insane at one point".

Jones added: "But for us, the way our radio is set up... every genre is getting a chance and that is what makes it so cool and we always have this lo-fi rustic sound no matter where, it's not too polished. I don't think it's really my time".

"To be one of the people who are mentioned among these names..."

At the ceremony to announce the nominations, Jorja Smith was also revealed as the victor of the 2018 critics' choice BRIT Award. Her single "New Rules" was a break out hit previous year and she is nominated in five categories including best album, best female artist and best single. "There's lots more to come in 2018 from all of us and I will do my best to make it another memorable year!"

The 2018 Brit Awards will take place 21 February at the O2 Arena in London, and the categories video of the year and breakthrough act are open to voting at the official website.