The Upcoming Gmail Update Includes Timebombed Messages

Monday, 16 Apr, 2018

The Google users can see these changes for themselves very soon. As per past reports, Gmail web users will get smart replies, a feature already available on the mobile app, a new sidebar, the ability to snooze emails and three new layouts, among other things.

The feature also includes a confidential mode which will prevent the recipient of the email from forwarding, downloading, printing or copying and pasting text from the email.

There's now no word on a final release date for the new Gmail, however, a message to early access testers hints at a launch date in the coming weeks. This is similar to the LinkedIn message replying feature.

In a statement to The Verge, Google said: "We're working on some major updates to Gmail (they're still in draft phase)".

The new Gmail is set to release in a few weeks, but there has been no exact word on when confidential mode will roll out. This upgrade lets you share more photos, files and videos than ever before using the service.

The yet-to-be introduced feature works quite much like expiring emails in "ProtonMail" in which the email becomes unreadable after some time.

To create a confidential email, click compose and an icon on the bottom row of the new email you'll see a lock and clock icon click on that and edit how long you would like the email to last. Among the updates that will be coming, you'll be able to mark messages as confidential which will give you lots of power over how email is handled.

This icon will not only allow you to set an expiration date of a sent email but there's also a "Require Passcode" option that you can select if you want the recipient to confirm their identity with a passcode sent via SMS. Not to mention if users OR senders are utilizing POP3/IMAP/SMTP to access their inbox.

For messages that are sent in confidential mode and received using a mail client like Outlook or Apple Mail, users will simply receive a message with a link that opens in a browser where the security features will be invoked. "You can open it by clicking this link".