'Nova, Michigan set for title game rematch

Wednesday, 16 May, 2018

The Huskers and Pirates will face off Wednesday, Nov. 14, at a time to be announced. All games will be televised on FS1 or the Big Ten Network.

Penn State and DePaul faced off inside the Bryce Jordan Center during the first annual Gavitt Tipoff Games in 2015 when the Nittany Lions came away with an 82-68 victory.

For the college basketball fans unaware, the Gavitt Games is a series between the Big Ten Conference and Big East Conference to start off a new college basketball season, which kind of worked out flawless for the NCAA. Those three formed the core of a program that has made three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances.

The teams will have significantly different looks after they met in the NCAA Tournament title game. The three NIT squads are Marquette, Nebraska and Penn State.

The Huskers return four starters for seventh-year coach Tim Miles, including first-team All-Big Ten guard James Palmer Jr., from a team that went 22-11 last season, including a school-record 13 Big Ten wins.

Xavier beat the Badgers, 80-70, in the 2017 Gavitt Games in Madison.

For just the second time, Ohio State basketball is set to take part in the Gavitt Games.

The 2018 game will be the first home contest for Nebraska in the series.

The Gavitt Tipoff Games concludes with St. John's playing at Rutgers on Friday, Nov. 16.

This will be the third time the Illini have been a featured team in the Gavitt Games, they beat DePaul previous year and lost at Providence in 2015. Each edition consists of eight games with a couple of teams from both conferences sitting out.

The distinctive series between the two conferences is named to honor the late Gavitt, who had a profound and lasting influence on the sport of basketball at the collegiate, professional and Olympic levels.