At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova got engaged in a lengthy argument after she had an overhead smash called out.
Former world No. 1 Karolina Pliskova was so irate with an umpire at a Wednesday tournament in Rome that she hit the umpire's chair with her racquet several times - instead of shaking hands - after a stunning loss to Maria Sakkari. The ball, which was clearly in, was ruled out.
A hot-tempered argument made no progress in her bid to overturn the decision as the sixth seeded Czech went on to lose the game on unfortunate circumstances.
And with no hawkeye technology in place to give a definitive decision, the call stood against Pliskova, who ended up losing her serve and Sakkari went on to win the set, and the match, 7-5.
Pliskova had 41 unforced errors in the match, more than her 32 winners.
If Pliskova didn't show her distain to her opponent, she certainly did to Mrozinska, as she swung her racket three times, causing considerable damage to the umpire's chair.
For Sakkari it was the first top five win of her career and she will face the victor of the second-round match between 11th seed Angelique Kerber of Germany and Romania's Irina-Camelia Begu.
- NAFTA deal unlikely this week, but negotiations continue, Mexico says
- Patrick Vieira 'upset' with Arsenal over 'token gesture'
- Rise in Ozone-Destroying Chemical Despite Ban Puzzles Scientists
- Ronda Rousey eager for WWE title, baby 'someday soon'
- 2nd District is focus as Nebraska residents vote in primary
- SCOTUS Feigns Federalism in Sports Betting Decision
- Metro health officials confirm E. coli case linked to lettuce
- The New Trailer for Forthcoming Whitney Documentary Will Give You Chills
- Omo-Agege appears at Senate plenary
- Fortnite Blockbuster Week 3