Las Vegas’ Miki Sudo wins 5th straight Nathan’s hot dog contest

Friday, 06 Jul, 2018

Miki won her 5th consecutive title at this year's Nathan's Famous July Fourth Hot Dog Eating Contest - but tells us she doesn't make almost as much money as 11-time men's champ Joey Chestnut. Chestnut beat 20 other contestants to earn the coveted "Mustard Belt" and ate a record 74 hot dogs and buns, surpassing the previous record of 72 dogs he set a year ago.

On the women's side, participants will look to dethrone Miki Sudo, who took the crown from "The Black Widow" Sonya Thomas in 2014 and has worn it ever since.

The five top-ranked eaters in the world are Chestnut, Carmen Cincotti, Matt Stonie, Geoffrey Esper and Sudo, according to Major League Eating.

NY native and defending champion Miki Sudo chomped down 37 hotdogs and buns, making her a five time victor of the women's contest.

The previous record was 72, set past year by Chestnut.

The sport-although some critics refuse to label competitive eating as an athletic contest-was held in 1972 and was won by Jason Schechter who ate a modest 14 hot dogs. The men's portion of the event begins at 12:00 PM Eastern and can also be streamed via the WatchESPN app if you don't happen to be around a TV.

What time does the Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest start? "When I saw that I had a considerable lead, at one point by eight hot dogs, I said, it's fine, I'm done". Lesco chowed down 28 wieners and buns.

Ten-time victor Joey "Jaws" Chestnut will confront 20 other men during the men's competition later Wednesday for the coveted Mustard Belt.

Miki Sudo is looking for her third consecutive win in the women's competition. But, we're sure Miki is not anxious about that as both she and Joey get to take home $10,000 for their big win!

Women compete during the annual Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest on July 4, 2018 in Coney Island. Chestnut marked a new world record set using his signature style of stuffing two frankfurters down his throat at a time.

The event attracts thousands of in-person spectators and is televised on ESPN.